In which I am apparently studying at Hogwarts!

Standard

And for the matter, Hogwarts is currently masquerading as the University of Nottingham. No, it wasn’t the fact that I will be spending a significant amount of time this semester over runic texts and/or books on Old English and Old Norse. It wasn’t the fact that if all libraries on campus are as large as the one I hang out in (Hallward Library for those in the know), then clearly Hermione Granger had an active involvement in their design. It wasn’t even the fact that part of the campus could possibly be the Forbidden Forest in miniature (although if anyone fancies looking for unicorns and/or thestrals, I’m up for it).

No, what go me (and a few friends of mine for the matter) suspicious is the sheer number of staircases, doors and corridors that seem to lead nowhere in this place. I swear, in Trent Building only there’s more corridors than actual rooms. Is that even architecturally possible? Not that we are complaining. I can’t speak for the others, but having spend a good part of my early teenage-hood fully expecting a Hogwarts letter to arrive I am simply glad to be able to indulge in a little fantasy play and pretend I’m a very studious Ravenclaw or a mischivious Slytherin (I could never quite decide which House suited me better…).

And with the first week of lessons not being over yet, I can’t help but feel like a little first year, star-struck with all the new experiences and spending a lot of time getting lost in one corridor or another. It certainly looks like it’s going to be an interesting year if nothing else. Normally I don’t judge places and people at first glance but this time I will hazard a prediction: the next fifty-one weeks are going to be unforgettable!

One response »

Leave a Reply

