Sands of time chapter 1

Standard

Author’s note: …and a long-ish one it shall be. I remember beginning this story when I was sixteen. It had been a very long day and IB Economics was dragging on even more than usual. I had a few loose leaves of paper and while I was supposed to take notes on Macroeconomics I started writing down ideas for a fanfic. Not Spirit of Fire, that was well on it’s way at that point. Rather it would be on an anime I had recently re-watched, only remembering it as something I had loved during my childhood: Yu-Gi-Oh! Perhaps not the girliest of choices but trust me, one minute of the Sailor Moon dub in Greek and you’d be begging for a card game too. It was a silly idea, the insert-an-OC-love-interest kind. We’ve seen it done more times than we care to count, some great, some good, some worthy of swallowing bleach. I don’t presume to judge mine. Re-reading some of the first chapters, I cringe at the image of my teenage self trying to figure out the ins and outs of romance writing. Much as I love it, it never came easily to me. I could have edited this before posting it here. It’s been sitting around on fanfiction.net for a while anyway. I decided not to. Not because I’m lazy. Rather I honestly don’t think I could better it in any way, except perhaps the occasional grammar tweak. I wrote this story while on a fandom kick, some of the later chapters were written literally parallel to watching the episodes just so that I could get the dialogue and character placements right. Some scenes were inspired by throwaway quotes or fanart on DeviantArt. I suppose all I can say about it is that if my Avatar stories were my labour of love, then this one is that weekend you sneak away with no warning to do fun stuff. A guilty pleasure if you will. Quite literally for the first few chapters, considering I wrote them during class….

*** Remembering comes in flashbacks and echoes ***

As Kul Elna went down in flames, over the sea, in a small island, a girl opened her eyes to greet the world for the first time, letting out a melodic cry.

 

When a boy was using his demon-like Ka to survive, she was barely aware of the presence of hers.

 

He was the feared King of Thieves, known to all Egypt by the time he was sixteen. She was renowned for her golden eyes and unique beauty in all Greece when she was sixteen.

 

Neither of them felt complete or content. At sixteen she was a woman and as such she was expected to wed. Her father made all the arrangements and she was introduced to a prosperous merchant who would make a proper husband. The night she was expected to meet him, she ran away.

 

The girl hid in a ship that would sail to Egypt. She was discovered half-way through the trip and rather than be forced back, she threw herself overboard. But she loved life too much to simply drown. A blinding light enveloped her and the men at the ship watched as a flaming bird caught her and flew towards Egypt.

 

The Thief King had seen many strange things in his twenty years of roaming the desert. An unconscious woman dressed in Greek clothes was a first. He paused his horse to scrutinize her curiously. She was paler than an Egyptian but still tan, with long ebony black her. Her dress was white and of good quality but she had little jewelry on her. She looked peacefully asleep, not a hint of the exhaustion than should have been present after walking through the desert.

 

Jumping next to her he purred a little water over her lips. A pair of tired golden eyes looked up at him as she struggled to remain conscious.

“Who are you?” she whispered.

“I am Akefia, the King of Thieves,” he answered with an air of arrogance. “Who are you girl?”

“Elena.” She managed to say before falling unconscious again.

 

Akefia cursed as he gathered her to his arms. He would have to take her back if he was to get any answers. The idea of having to provide for another person didn’t sound appealing. Nevertheless he was curious. He sensed power coming from her, a power similar to his Diabound.

 

Elena woke inside a cool cave. A red robe was spread over her for warmth and she could hear a small fire nearby. Sitting up slowly she took in her surroundings. The cave was almost bare, with the exception of a few provisions near the fire. A shadow grew at the opening and Elena turned to face her savior. She could vaguely remember a man introducing himself as Akefia.

 

He was a young man, a little older than her, with tan skin and –to her astonishment- pure white hair and lavender eyes. He was only wearing a black senti so she guessed that the robe she was currently using as a blanket was his. She blushed a little.

 

Akefia allowed the girl’s scrutiny, feeling a little smug at her blush. He walked to the fire and sat facing her.

“How did you end up in the desert girl?” he asked.

“My name is Elena,” she corrected him frowning. “I can’t remember any desert.” She tried to bring back any recollection of the last few days, feeling uncomfortable with him staring at her. “I remember hiding in the ship,” she said slowly, “being found, jumping into the water, a light and then nothing.”

“What were you doing on the ship?” Akefia asked. “And why were you hiding?” She gave him a defiant look.

“I will not be forced into marriage!” she said decisively. “I wanted to make a new life far away enough to not be found.” Akefia looked at her amused. That girl remained him of himself right after he lost his people. Reckless abandon and a steely determination to live.

“It looks to me that you got your wish.” He smiled thinly at her. To his surprise she smiled back.

 

Leave a Reply

