Things that university taught me

Standard

I finally truly hit that uni is almost over. And I say almost because I still have my thesis to obsess about, so expect a lot more gushing/groaning on that department. Thinking back however, there’s a few things I’d like to share that I think will stay with me for a long time:

  1. Most of the stuff you learnt after year 6 is irrelevant. Unless you do Creative Writing. In which case everything is relevant.
  2. Movie/TV references are the currency.
  3. There is no such thing as optional reading.
  4. Laundry doesn’t get lost. It multiplies in your absence.
  5. Walking distances are proportional to your bank account.
  6. The faster you learn to cook, the faster you become popular.
  7. Hand-written notes rule!
  8. Opinions don’t matter. Everyone will do their thing regardless.
  9. Online shopping (window or not) can be addictive.
  10. The walls are always less soundproof than you think.
  11. You will feel decades older than the first years. And you will find yourself quoting your grandmother.
  12. Supernatural has gifs for everything.
  13. Scented candles always help.
  14. Any day is pancake day (and any time for the matter).
  15. Having fancy-dress costumes is more important than having practical clothes.
  16. You will run out of pain killers the day before you need them.
  17. Illnesses can be postponed through sheer will-power.
  18. Embrace the geek.
  19. Learn to saw. Tights are expensive when you buy them every second week.
  20. Weather and temperature have no relation to outfit choices.
  21. It is perfectly acceptable to go to the supermarket in your pyjamas.
  22. You will develop as seventh sense tuned to find the nearest chocolate. Also an eighth one for coffee.
  23. Fairy lights are an essential decoration.
  24. So are skull-shaped candle holders. (I have diverse interests…sue me!)
  25. Carrying around a creepily questionable book and openly reading it in public will -hopefully- repel any unwanted social interactions.
  26. Morpheus is the most important god ever worshipped.
  27. Your music tastes will inevitably shift to things your teenage self would cringe at.
  28. Disney is still awesome!
  29. There’s never enough money.
  30. There’s never enough time.

There’s more, but if I kept going we’d be here till Kingdom Come. One day, many years from now, when I’ll be a mostly-functional adult, I will write the full thing. Then print it out and use it to wallpaper my house. Just because I can. I did mention that I’ll be mostly functional, didn’t I?😉

One response »

  1. 25 never works for me – I always get asked stuff like ‘hey, what’s a snake cult?’ ‘Are you in a snake cult?’ ‘Can I join your snake cult?’

    But then maybe snake cults are more of a hot-button topic than I thought they were.

Leave a Reply

