Oh, Technology why do you vex me so?

Standard

I’m no computer whiz. Heck! If I had superpowers one of them would probably be frying electronic devices just by looking at them! Alright, maybe I exaggerate a little, but the truth of the matter is that if it has electronic components it will probably die in my hands. Whatever it is. And the funniest part? I don’t do it on purpose! I even try to be considerate, I cover my touchscreen with that protective film-thingy, I do a regular anti-virus scan on my laptop, I even take care not to bang it around when I’m on the bus! Really, on the surface there is no explanation as to why my gadgets tend to revolt against me. But they do. And seeing as I do not have the technical know-how to fix them myself I end up  running around like a headless chicken, looking for someone who does know what to do.

Case in point, since the latest Facebook app update my phone has been going bananas. Other than Facebook not working (Messenger too, since it updated too yesterday), some of the apps that include an optional Facebook log in are getting stuck on their opening screen and the phone looses signal without warning (and apparently for no reason). But all this I could deal with. They are frustrating yes, but I just have to force the apps closed (or restart the device) and problem temporarily solved. No! The fun times truly start when the entire phone get stuck. Like I’ll just freeze your screen with no warning, no apparent reason and no easy solution. Normally I’d go for the shut-down-and-restart route but unfortunately my model has no manual option for this. Most forums I scanned through advice to take out the battery and put it back. -sigh- This would probably work on older models but mine is one of those thin ones that seem impossible to take apart without breaking something vital. I’ll take to tech support once I’m done here, see what they have to say.

It’s not as much the inconvenience that bugs me (okay that alone pisses me off big time), it’s that there is no apparent reason for my phone to be acting up. I’m sure someone more tech-savvy would be able to give me a more extensive explanation other than “It just happened” and part of me hopes that the phone doctor will have a lecture in store for me on how to avoid something like this happening again. Gotta congratulate the Powers That Be for their impeccable timing however! They chose to pull this whammy on me just when I’m expecting a slew of Really Important E-mails (capitalisation intended) before they went after my electronics. You know, guys, there are other ways to draw my attention. Just saying…

Leave a Reply

