The trouble with great ideas

Standard

The other night I was running commentary with a friend over some episodes from Season 11 of Supernatural (particularly the one where Chuck makes his -dubiously- deus ex machina return). Here be SPOILERS so you have been warned. Since Amara’s character was introduced I figured she was the elder sister, and frankly Chuck’s nigh-constant whining about her points to younger sibling, no offence intended to anyone reading this. All questions of sibling dynamics for beings on the higher end of the divinity scale aside it got me thinking and going all head-canon-y. The Supernatural verse is frustratingly vague in terms of how-things-work on the subject of Creation, though, to be fair, in a show were all religious pantheons and Darwin’s evolution theory coexist the explanation would no doubt make somebody’s brain explode.

And it’s so annoying cause I am so close to marrying all these potential Creation and End-of All stories in one cohesive explanation! It’ll probably be something I’ll work on over Christmas, since I really want to talk about it, but it is also the type of post that will require research and diagrams and possibly me bugging a friend or two to beta-read it before it goes up… And therein lies on of the major issues that most often hold me back from writing. I think I’ve talked about it before but telegraph version is that:

a. There is no true correspondence from language to language

b. I tend to think in several languages simultaneously -and sometimes non-verbally- when working through a complicated problem

c. Have fun translating to words of a singular language the mental equivalent of a fractal, especially in the subjects of existential philosophy and Jungian philosophy….

I had a go at it when I was writing my MA dissertation (because analysing archetypal mythological Aspects and their evolution sounded fun in theory) and let me tell you, my first drafts were a textbook case of “It’s funnier in Enochian”! And I can’t even read Enochian! But yeah… it took a lot of reworking and rewording and the end result doesn’t say nearly as much as I’d like it to but at least it’s accessible to people who did not spend a few years of their lives reading up on mythology, Campbell’s theories of the questing hero, Jungian archetypes and, yes, even trope characteristics. I suspect this upcoming post will go through a very similar process… Hey, if you guys fancy I can scan the original, handwritten post too for comparison’s sake! We’ll see. Either way, bless my ability to remember dialogue from movies/episodes/books. Much as I wouldn’t mind rewatching the show there’s the small issue of days having only 24 hours… And me, for better or worse, needing to do other things with my time too…

Stay tuned however! I’m not about to let a damn good headcannon go wasted!

Until then, cheerio!

Leave a Reply

